Archive | Uncategorized RSS for this section

Beta Kappa Chapter Membership Update


Call for Nominations- 2017 Beta Phi Mu Librarian of the Year

Alabama Librarians, it’s that time of year again! The time of year when we honor an amazing colleague for their great work. What a fantastic way to let our colleagues know that they’re appreciated!

Do you know a stellar Alabama librarian? Would you like to honor them? Then nominate them for the Beta Phi Mu Librarian of the Year Award!

Beta Phi Mu- Beta Kappa Chapter Librarian of the Year Award is granted to librarians across Alabama who have made a significant contribution to librarianship over the course of their career. This award goes to Public, School, Academic or special librarians. As an organization, Beta Phi Mu strives to recognize and honor librarians who have made on mark on the people around them through service and scholarship. The chapter’s nomination committee will make a selection based on these criteria. Please see our website for past Librarians of the Year! (

The Beta Phi Mu Librarian of the Year:

1. has a professional degree in one of the fields of library science
2. has lived in Alabama for a minimum of 5 years and during that time must have held a professional library position
3. has made an exceptional contribution to the development of professionalism among Alabama librarians
4. has actively contributed to the profession through publishing, professional association work, research and/or leadership within their community.

We welcome your nominations and look forward to hearing from you!

To nominate a librarian for this award, please fill out this form with a short testimonial!

Welcome New Members

Each year in April, we welcome new members to our society. This year, we are happy to welcome the following initiates to Beta Kappa Chapter!

    • Jennifer Lea Pate
    • Alissa Mathney Helms
    • Hillary Paige Crumbley
    • Sally Johnston Shelly
    • Stephanie Sullens Long
    • Lynda Christina Tidmore
    • Kristen Lindsay Snow
    • Rachel Elizabeth Helms
    • Kacey Gill Davis
    • Mary Lauren Gilpin
    • Tracy Trainor Polk
    • Amanda Hall Alexander
    • Matthew Francis Baiocchi

2015 New Member Inductions and Librarian of the Year Award

Please join us as we induct our new members for 2015! Induction Ceremonies will be taking place at  UA SLIS Honors Day, 3 April at Gorgas Library, Tuscaloosa, AL, and at the Alabama Library Association Convention, 9 April at the Grand Hotel Marriott, Point Clear, AL.

In conjunction with our New Member Induction Ceremony, we will also be announcing our 2015 Librarian of the Year Award. You won’t want to miss this!

Hope to see you in the coming weeks!

Call for Nominations: Librarian of the Year

Do you know a stellar Alabama librarian? Would you like to honor them? Then follow this link to nominate them for the Beta Phi Mu Librarian of the Year Award!

Beta Phi Mu Librarian of the Year

Beta Phi Mu Scholarship Season is Open!!

Beta Phi Mu is offering 5 scholarships this year! They are accepting applications November 15, 2014 through March 15, 2015. Check them out!

Sarah Rebecca Reed
For beginning LIS studies at an ALA accredited school.
Frank B. Sessa – Continuing Education
For continuing education for a Beta Phi Mu member.
Harold Lancour – Foreign Study
For a librarian conducting foreign reserach.
Blanche E. Woolls – School Media
For beginning LIS studies with a concentration in School Library Media.
Eugene Garfield Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship
For doctoral students who are working on their dissertations in LIS and related fields.

Results of Beta Kappa Chapter Election

It is my pleasure to announce the election of some new officers for Beta Kappa Chapter!

  • Vice-President: James Gilbreath
  • Secretary: Karlie Johnson
  • Treasurer: Steven Gillis
  • Member-at-Large: Rebekkah Woods

I look forward to the privilege of serving with each of you, and I expect we will do some great work done in the coming year!